Founders’ Walk marks 120 years of rugby league

editorial image

The West Yorkshire clubs which founded rugby league will be part of a celebration marking 120 years of the sport.

The club stadiums will be checkpoints on a six-day, 120 mile Founders’ Walk, passing each of the 22 founding clubs.

Local teams will join the walk, organised by the RFL, which takes place from Sunday July 19 until July 24.

On August 29, 1895, the Yorkshire and Lancashire clubs split from the English Rugby Union’s governing body to form their own code.

The split was a result of the northern clubs wanting to turn professional, which was prohibited at the time in Rugby Union.

Between 1895 and 1908, numerous rule changes were made and Rugby League was transformed into the game we know it as today.

Anyone can join the walk, which is broken down into community sections. It goes from Huddersfield through Brighouse, Liversedge, Batley on Monday and from Hunslet, Leeds to Halifax on Tuesday.

It hopes to raise £120,000 for the Rugby League Cares charity.

For more information, visit