Hunslet start new season on the road

Hunslet head coach Gary Thornton.
Hunslet head coach Gary Thornton.

Hunslet RLFC will kick-off their 2018 League One season on the road as they take on Hemel Stags at Pennine Way.

The opening game will take place on Sunday, February 18 with a 2pm kick-off before Hunslet’s first home game at the South Leeds Stadium, which will be against Whitehaven. This is followed by a home tie against North Wales in round three, before a short trip to the Provident Stadium to face the Bradford Bulls in a mouth-watering clash.

Hunslet’s first meeting with newly formed West Wales Raiders will take place at the South Leeds Stadium on Sunday, May 27 and they finish the league campaign at Coventry Bears. Their Good Friday fixture will be against Keighley Cougars.

The League One play-off format has also been confirmed with two teams being promoted to the Championship at the end of the season. The league leaders will automatically be promoted with the below four teams in the league ladder competing in a play-off format.

Second will play fifth and third will play fourth with the winners of each match competing in a Grand Final to determine which team is promoted.

Hunslet’s fixture list:

Sunday, Feb 18 Hemel Stags Away

Sunday, Mar 4 Whitehaven Home

Sunday, Mar 11 North Wales Home

Sunday, Mar 25 Bradford Bulls Away

Friday, Mar 30 Keighley Cougars Home

Sunday, Apr 8 Oldham Away

Sunday, Apr 15 Workington Town Home

Sunday, Apr 29 Newcastle Thunder Away

Sunday, May 6 York City Knights Home

Sunday, May 20 Doncaster Away

Sunday, May 27 West Wales Raiders Home

Saturday, Jun 9 London Skolars Away

Sunday, Jun 17 Coventry Bears Home

Sunday, Jun 24 Oldham Home

Sunday, Jul 1 North Wales Crusaders Away

Sunday, Jul 8 Workington Town Away

Sunday, Jul 15 Bradford Bulls Home

Sunday, Jul 22 Doncaster Home

Sunday, Jul 29 Keighley Cougars Away

Saturday, Aug 4 West Wales Raiders Away

Sunday, Aug 12 Hemel Stags Home

Sunday, Aug 19 York City Knights Away

Sunday, Sep 2 London Skolars Home

Sunday, Sep 9 Whitehaven Away

Sunday, Sep 16 Newcastle Thunder Home

Saturday, Sep 22 Coventry Bears Away